10 Rules of Islam: Understanding the Core Principles

10 Rules of Islam, one of the world’s major religions, offers a way of life guided by ten fundamental rules derived from Quranic teachings and Muhammad. Let’s delve into these ten essential rules of Islam to gain greater insight into this ancient and profound faith.

10 Rules of Islam

1. Shahada: Bearing Witness

Shahada, Islam’s founding principle, emphasises the unity of God. This testimony symbolises entrance into Islamic faith by acknowledging Allah as supreme authority and Muhammad as Prophet.10 Rules of Islam

2. Salah: Daily Prayers

Salah (prayer) is one of the five daily prayers, known as Salat in Islam, that Muslims perform before sunrise, midday, afternoon, after sunset and at night in Mecca facing the Kaaba in Mecca. Muslims should offer these prayers so as to connect with Allah and seek guidance and forgiveness.10 Rules of Islam

3.Zakat: Almsgiving

Zakat is an act of giving to those in need, with Muslims being obliged to donate a percentage of their wealth – usually 2.5% – toward helping those less fortunate members of their community. This practice promotes compassion, solidarity and social responsibility among believers.10 Rules of Islam

4. Sawm: Fasting during Ramadan

Sawm is the Arabic term for fasting during Ramadan from dawn until sunset, from abstaining from food, drink, smoking, and any other physical needs such as toilet paper. Fasting can help build self-discipline, empathy for those in need and spiritual development.10 Rules of Islam

5.Hajj: Pilgrimage to Mecca

Hajj is an annual pilgrimage to Mecca that each physically and financially capable Muslim must complete at least once during their lifetime, representing unity within Islam while remembering Prophet Abraham and his family’s deeds.10 Rules of Islam

6. Halal and Haram: Permissible and Forbidden

Halal refers to what is considered lawful and permitted under Islam, while Haram refers to anything forbidden. This rule covers various aspects of life such as food, clothing, behaviour and business practices – following this guidance will ensure purity and ethical behaviour.10 Rules of Islam

7. Modesty in Dress and Behavior

Islam encourages modesty both in attire and behaviour. Muslim men and women should dress modestly, covering hair and bodies with loose-fitting clothing to maintain modesty in both attire and behaviour. Respectful and ethical conduct are also integral parts of this rule.10 Rules of Islam

8.  Kindness and Compassion

Islam places great value on acting with kindness and generosity towards all living beings, whether this means treating others with dignity and helping those in need, or being mindful of one’s words and actions. All aspects of this principle must be upheld to achieve true religious success.

9. Seeking Knowledge

Knowledge is highly esteemed in Islam. The Quran encourages believers to consider how God has manifested Himself throughout creation, while simultaneously expanding their understanding in various fields that will benefit both themselves and society as a whole.

10. Taqwa: God-consciousness

Taqwa refers to being aware of Allah in every aspect of one’s life and acting accordingly; making righteous decisions, abstaining from sinful behaviours and striving to improve one’s character are key components.


Understanding and practicing these ten rules of Islam forms the cornerstone of Muslim life. From declaring faith to acts of charity, prayer, and self-improvement – from self-improvement programs to charitable works – they guide believers toward living an ethical lifestyle filled with spiritual growth, compassion and righteousness. Adherence to these rules enhances life while creating harmony within global communities.

Youtube Video: The Five Pillars Of Islam
Related Post

Jannatul Firdaus : A Path of Virtue and Hope

107 – Surah Al Maun

Surah Al-Adiya 5 Powerful Lessons on Human Behavior and Gratitude

Last 2 Ayats of Surah Taubah

Surah Alam Nashrah in English

Leave a comment